Skip to content

Burn My Ego Down

August 5, 2014
'Hattie' by Gabriel Radley via Flickr.com

‘Hattie’ by Gabriel Radley via Flickr.com

This is a prayer to the dead Buddha

who can’t hear me.

Dear Buddha,

please burn my ego down.

Please give me wisdom like a flame,

let that flame burn and brighten,

and burn my ego down.

Let me let go of the dead wood

of attachment, aversion, and delusion

that I carry on my scarred back like a weight.

Let me let go of this burden

and set it alight

and dance around the flames

while I burn my ego down.

And let me not fear the fire

that burns my ego down.

Let it be a warmth, a light, a balm.

Dear Buddha,

I don’t think you can hear me,

but I don’t think you need to.

This is a prayer to the buddha inside me

when I have burned my ego down.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 5, 2014 8:04 am

    This is very beautiful. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

