Skip to content

Tres – Feral Cat Number Three

January 17, 2013
Tres after her surgery.  She wouldn't stop moving.  Best picture I could get.  Photo by Monica.

Tres after her surgery. She wouldn’t stop moving. Best picture I could get. Photo by Monica.

Everybody, meet Tres.  She’s the cat in my earlier post I refer to as the “black mama.”  Well, thanks to SNPLA’s Pico Rivera clinic, she will be a mama no more.  I caught her this morning just before 6:00 am, about five minutes after putting the trap out.  Needless to say, she was not happy.  Not happy when I dropped her off and not happy when I picked her up, but she was healthy according to the clinic people, and in heat, so I got her just in time.  No more kittens for you!  She’s in recovery until tomorrow afternoon, when she’ll be released on her own recognizance.

I am pleased to report that the kittens, Uno and Dos, have healed wonderfully from their surgery.  They are now wrestling and playing and otherwise making mischief.  The are consistent in their hissing and growling at me, but remain non-aggressive.  I take them out every day for cuddling and petting and feed them wet food with a spoon.  Friends have been dropping by for “kitty-therapy” sessions to help socialize them further.  Occasionally I see small signs of progress, like last night when Uno sniffed the finger I stuck into the cage without moving away or making nasty sounds.  That may seem insignificant, but I have an intuitive sense of small improvements.  They are still a few weeks away from adoptability, unless there is another stubbornly patient person out there who finds their grumpiness as adorable as I do.

Uno and Dos, the morning after a raucous, all-night cage match.  They'd pulled down the cardboard and towel from the upper shelf and totally covered their litter box.  Photo by Monica.

Uno and Dos, the morning after a raucous, all-night cage match. They’d pulled down the cardboard and towel from the upper shelf and totally covered their litter box. Photo by Monica.

You have donated $973.67 so far through PayPal and face-to-face donations.  I have spent $375, leaving $598.67 remaining.  Tres’ vet bill to come to $48 (without deworming), which should be typical for the adult cats.  Therefore, after Tres, I will have enough remaining to cover from 7 to 12 more cats.  Which is good, because there are at least that many to go.  I’m counting up to the thirteen (saw a new one today, a big cream colored cat) I’ve spotted and can tell apart.  Thanks to the loan of a second trap, next week I’m going to try for two at a time.  Wish me luck and a speedy recovery to Tres!

Leave a Reply

