Skip to content

Best of BIN

January 5, 2011
by

Buddhist In Nebraska, which shall henceforth be affectionately referred to as ‘BIN,’ lived a good, long life for a blog.  Four and a half years in the ever-changing blogosphere must be akin to, say, one-hundred and thirty in reality years.  During that time, I was occasionally gratified and often surprised at which posts turned out to be popular as well as the numerous ways people found themselves at my doorstep.

Naturally, the most common search terms were “Buddhist” and “Nebraska,” but there were a panoply of other phrases, some far more amusing.  “Apathy” was common and more common still when paired with “equanimity.”  When “loneliness” was added to “Buddhism” people would invariably find me.  Many other terms in combination with “Buddhism” brought the traffic along, including “soul mates,” “pluralism,” and “string.”   But the stand alone search terms are some of the most interesting: “dreaming in third person,” “sakyong yoda,” “like a silver storm” (that one, with quotation marks, brought someone from the German language Google site), and “why does life suck?”.

Yet by far, the most common search term, entry point other than the main page, and most popular post remains one of my earliest.  So, from that post, here are the ten most popular (by traffic, search terms, and entry points) of Buddhist In Nebraska, may she rest in peace.

#1 – Inherent Existence, October 19, 2006

“Buddhists have this concept of emptiness. The way I understand it is through a simple phrase: all things are empty of inherent existence. Or, nothing exists in and of itself. Nothing comes from nothing.”

#2 – Lotus Zen Temple, August 9, 2009

“Today I finally found myself at the Lotus Zen Temple on 19th & Ryons Streets, just one block south of South Street. The temple is in a lovely two-story arts and crafts style home. I have been intending to go for quite some time, but today I was finally successful.”

#3 – Thoughts On Loneliness, January 8, 2008

“It’s this slightly sad, slightly frustrated, not quite right bit of heartache deep down inside. A hollow echo of a feeling which I am sometimes not even sure is there.”

#4 – Dreaming In Third Person, June 8, 2009

“Maybe we do have to wake up from dreaming, wake up from waking, and then wake up from a third, as of yet, undiscovered layer of delusion. In fact, I’m certain that we do, and I’m certain the layers of delusion are innumerably thick.”

#5 – Fur Buddhas, March 16, 2009

“Spook was never the most friendly of cats. We tried to show him in 4-H once and he received the award for “Most Spirited” because he bit the judge, who kindly didn’t hold it against him.”

#6 – Equanimity or Apathy, July 26, 2007

“Yet, I feel nothing. Or something so close to nothing it might be labeled as such, a small sadness, a passing regret, easily displaced by the next moment in my own life. I have struggled with this question my entire life: is this equanimity or apathy?”

#7 – Musings on the Nature of Phenomena … And Cheese, September 24, 2010

“When confronted by this idea, that all things metaphysical are subjective and all that exists in the universe is the phenomenal (matter and energy) and the epiphenomenal (thoughts, emotions, values, and meaning generated as byproducts of the interaction of matter and energy in the brain), people tend to freak out.”

#8 – Subversive Stereotyping, February 1, 2010

“I have often found it to my advantage to “own my stereotypes,” because that gives me the opportunity to shake people up when I act outside of them.”

#9 – No Soul Mates, June 11, 2009

“I do not believe in soul mates. This may be due to the fact that I do not believe in the existence of an immutable, metaphysical soul. But also, I simply do not believe that there is only one person on this earth with whom I could love and be happy. I mean, if that were the case, how screwed are we?”

#10 – Practicing Peace – Shenpa, August 30, 2007

“When shenpa is behind certain words it dehumanizes the object of those words. Over the centuries many, many words have been used to dehumanize various groups of people. “Oh, she’s only a woman,” as though ‘woman’ were somehow something less than the speaker, a human person, therefore less than human.”

Enjoy the memories!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

